"Don't be that Guy"

Don’t Be That Guy Campaign

For years we’ve been telling young women that it’s up to them to avoid sexual assault. The “Don’t be THAT guy” poster campaign breaks the mold by speaking directly to young men. The images are intentionally graphic to emphasize the bottom line, which is that sex without consent is sexual assault. And being drunk is no excuse for committing a violent crime.

The posters take a refreshing and new approach to tackling sexual violence among youth aged 19 to 25. Instead of placing responsibility for preventing sexual assault in the hands of victims, the posters appeal to potential offenders—speaking directly to them in their language. The posters can be displayed in bars as well as other places where young people gather Learn more

The message is clear: Don’t be that guy. Don’t be that guy who doesn’t take responsibility. Don’t be that guy who doesn’t make sure his partner is consenting. Don’t be that guy who sexually assaults a young woman too drunk to consent to sex. Don’t be that guy who uses alcohol as a tool to sexually assault. Don’t be that guy who believes it is not rape. Watch our video to find out why this campaign is so important:

If you would like copies of our posters, download them here by clicking on them. They will print on 8.5 x 11 paper.  Or contact us at cpo@ottawa.ca if you would like to order professionally printed copies by filling out the order form.

               Poster 3-En

Ottawa’s “Don’t be that guy” campaign was launched in May 2011 in conjunction with the Building Prevention: Sexual Violence, Youth and Drinking conference and Sexual Assault Awareness Month. 
There was extensive media coverage of the launch.

 

Research on Sexual Assault with a Focus on Alcohol

Following an open RFP process in 2010, CPO contracted the Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre, in partnership with the Ottawa Coalition to End Violence Against Women and an academic, to further our work by undertaking a best practices review and scan of activities in Ottawa with regards to the prevention of sexual assault in general and in addition a special focus on alcohol. 

The recently released research, Building Prevention: Sexual Violence, Youth and Drinking, is an insightful look at a critical problem. It found that young people have mixed understanding about the issue, and there are almost no prevention programs that address alcohol-related sexual violence. Alcohol-related community services focus on addiction and drunk driving, but don’t integrate a sexual violence component. Learn more in the executive summary,  full research report and presentation.

"Sois pas ce gars-la"

Campagne « Sois pas ce gars-là »

Ça fait des années que nous répétons aux jeunes femmes que c’est à elles de prévenir les agressions sexuelles. Cette campagne prend le contre-pied de ce message en s’adressant directement aux hommes. Les images sont volontairement choquantes et ont pour but de bien faire comprendre qu’un acte sexuel sans consentement, c’est une agression sexuelle pure et simple, et qu’être en état d’ébriété n’est pas une excuse.

Les affiches posent un regard neuf sur la façon d’aborder la violence sexuelle chez les jeunes de 19 à 25 ans. Le but est de sensibiliser les délinquants potentiels en s’adressant directement à eux, dans leurs mots, au lieu de cibler les victimes dans les efforts de prévention. Les affiches peuvent être installées dans les bars ainsi que dans d’autres lieux où les jeunes se rassemblent. Savoir plus

Le message est clair. Ne sois pas ce gars-là. Ne sois pas ce gars irresponsable. Ne sois pas ce gars qui ne se demande pas si sa partenaire est consentante. Ne sois pas ce gars qui profite de cette fille parce qu’elle est trop saoule pour exprimer un consentement.  Ne sois pas ce gars qui fait boire sa copine pour pouvoir abuser d’elle. Ne sois pas ce gars qui croit que ce n’est pas du viol. Regardez notre vidéo pour savoir pourquoi cette campagne est si importante

Si vous souhaitez obtenir nos affiches, téléchargez-les en cliquant dessus. Elles s’imprimeront sur du papier 8,5 x 11. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec nous à pco@ottawa.ca si vous désirez obtenir des affiches imprimées professionnellement tout en remplissant le bon de commande

        

 

Ottawa a lancé la campagne « Sois pas ce gars-là » à l’occasion de la conférence Se consacrer à la prévention : violence sexuelle, les jeunes et l’alcool et dans le cadre du mois de sensibilisation aux agressions sexuelles.  Il y avait une vaste couverture du lancement  dans les médias.

Recherche sur les agressions sexuelles, privilégiant le rôle de l’alcool

À la suite d’une demande de propositions lancée en 2010, PCO a confié au Centre d’aide immédiate aux victimes de viol d’Ottawa (Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre) le mandat d’approfondir, en association avec la Coalition d’Ottawa contre la violence faite aux femmes et un universitaire, le travail que nous avons accompli en procédant à un examen des pratiques exemplaires et à un inventaire des activités qui sont menées à Ottawa en ce qui concerne la prévention des agressions sexuelles en général, en mettant particulièrement l’accent sur le rôle de l’alcool à cet égard 

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le résumé, le rapport intégral (anglais seulement) et la présentation  (anglais seulement)