Youth

Since Crime Prevention Ottawa’s inception, Ottawa youth have been a primary focus. Whether we’re exploring what drives youth gang members, delivering information sessions, tackling graffiti or helping youth develop healthy relationships, our efforts are driven by research and designed to achieve results.

Dating and Sexual Violence

In Love and In Danger

Up to 30,000 Ottawa high school students are learning how to build healthy relationships each year thanks to the innovative program, In Love and In Danger. The program is the result of a partnership between Family Services Ottawa, the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board and the Ottawa Catholic School Board. CPO has provided funding to allow the program to integrate research into sexual violence and social media.

For the next two years, In Love and In Danger will work with students at conferences and in the classroom to talk about media literacy and safety in dating relationships, and to encourage students to use social media to advance anti-violence initiatives.Learn more about the difference it is making in this video.

The Fourth R

We continue to promote safe and healthy relationship through research and the evidence-based dating violence prevention program, The Fourth R.  Now available in all 41 English-speaking Ottawa high schools and many French-speaking high schools, more than 130 teachers are now trained to deliver the program.

Social media and violence

We also commissioned research into social media, sexual violence and youth. Our goal? To develop a city-wide strategy to combat the very real problems related to using social media for sexual violence purposes. Read the full research report , executive summary or view the videos from our public consultation event.

Drinking and sexual violence

Ottawa’s  Don’t Be THAT Guy poster campaign tackles the very real problem of drinking and sexual violence among youth aged 19 to 25. Rather than placing responsibility for preventing sexual assault in the hands of victims, the posters appeal to potential offenders—speaking directly to them in their language. To find out more and see the posters, visit our Violence Against Women page.

Youth gangs

An initiative of Crime Prevention Ottawa, the Ottawa Youth Gang Prevention Initiative (OYGPI) draws on the expertise of more than 30 agencies and institutions city-wide to address the issue of youth gangs. The group conducts research, develops training and organizes educational sessions on youth gang prevention and intervention strategies.

To find out more about gang prevention in Ottawa, visit our Gangs page.

Safe Youth, Safe Communities: This workshop is designed to help parents find ways to raise healthy, happy and hopeful children. Participants learn how to help children avoid getting involved in gang-related activities and how to access community resources to support them. The workshop can be downloaded and delivered in English,FrenchSomaliArabicSpanish or Farsi. Please contact us at cpo@ottawa.ca if you plan to offer a workshop in your community.

Paint it Up!

Crime Prevention Ottawa, in partnership with the City of Ottawa, offers funding for outdoor mural projects that support graffiti prevention, community safety and the beautification of Ottawa neighbourhoods. The Paint it Up! Program empowers youth through community arts.

For youth-related research and publications, visit our Youth Publications

Les jeunes

 

À vos pinceaux!

En association avec la Ville d’Ottawa, Prévention du crime Ottawa offre du financement pour des projets de murales extérieures favorisant la prévention des graffitis, la sécurité communautaire et l’embellissement des quartiers d’Ottawa. Le programme À vos pinceaux! responsabilise les jeunes au moyen des arts communautaires.

Fréquentations et violence sexuelle

En amour et en danger

Grâce au programme innovateur En amour et en danger, chaque année, jusqu’à 30 000 élèves du secondaire à Ottawa apprennent à établir des relations saines. Ce programme est le fruit d’un partenariat entre Services à la famille Ottawa, l’Ottawa-Carleton District School Board et l’Ottawa Catholic School Board. PCO a accordé une aide financière pour que le programme puisse intégrer les résultats d’une étude sur les médias sociaux et la violence sexuelle.

Pendant les deux prochaines années, les responsables du programme En amour et en danger s’adresseront aux élèves lors de conférences et dans les classes afin de leur parler des compétences pour l’utilisation des médias ainsi que de la sécurité dans les fréquentations, et de les encourager à se servir des médias sociaux pour promouvoir les initiatives de lutte contre la violence. Regardez la vidéo pour découvrir comment ce programme change les choses.

Les ABC des relations

Nous continuons à promouvoir des fréquentations sûres et saines grâce à des recherches et au programme éprouvé de prévention de la violence dans les fréquentations intitulé Les ABC des relations.  Plus de 130 enseignants ont maintenant reçu la formation nécessaire pour offrir ce programme dans 41 écoles secondaires de langue anglaise et dans bon nombre d’écoles de langue française d’Ottawa.

Les médias sociaux et la violence

Nous avons également demandé d’effectuer une recherche sur les médias sociaux, la violence sexuelle et les jeunes. Notre but? Élaborer une stratégie communautaire pour combattre les problèmes bien réels entourant l’utilisation des médias sociaux à des fins de violence sexuelle. Lisez le résumé ou regardez les vidéos (anglais seulement) de notre consultation publique.

La boisson et la violence sexuelle

La campagne d’affiches « Sois pas ce gars-là » à Ottawa cible un problème réel, celui de l’alcool et de la violence sexuelle chez les jeunes de 19 à 25 ans. Ces affiches s’adressent directement aux délinquants potentiels en employant leur langage, plutôt que de faire porter la responsabilité de la prévention des agressions sexuelles par les victimes. Pour en apprendre plus ou pour voir les affiches, visitez notre page Web Violence envers les femmes.

Présentations pour les parents

Jeunes en sécurité, Collectivités sécuritaires : cet atelier a été élaboré pour aider les parents à trouver des façons pour élever des enfants en santé, heureux et pleins d’espoir. Les participants découvrent des manières d’aider les enfants à éviter les activités liées aux gangs de rue et apprennent comment accéder à des ressources communautaires pour obtenir du soutien. Cet atelier peut être téléchargé et présenté en anglais,en français, en somali, en arabe, en espagnol et en persan. Veuillez communiquer par courriel avec PCO, à pco@ottawa.ca, si vous avez l’intention de présenter un atelier dans votre communauté.

À vos pinceaux!

En association avec la Ville d’Ottawa, Prévention du crime Ottawa offre du financement pour des projets de murales extérieures favorisant la prévention des graffitis, la sécurité communautaire et l’embellissement des quartiers d’Ottawa. Le programme À vos pinceaux! responsabilise les jeunes au moyen des arts communautaires.

Pour obtenir des recherches et des publications concernant les jeunes, veuillez visiter notre page Web Publications sur les jeunes