Terms Of Reference

  1. BACKGROUND
    In 2004 a Panel for Community Safety was convened and it produced a report entitled "Community Crime Prevention:  Investing in a Safer Ottawa.” The report was presented to City Council and a permanent responsibility centre for crime prevention was created in the 2005 budget process.  (Motion no. 27/66)
     
  2. VISION
    Ottawa is a community in which individuals, families and neighbourhoods are safe and feel safe.
     
  3. MISSION
    To contribute to crime reduction and enhanced community safety in Ottawa through collaborative, evidence-based crime prevention
     
  4. GOALS
    To develop a community-wide strategic plan to reduce crime and enhance community safety in Ottawa.
    • To implement specific targeted crime prevention programs and to support programs through appropriate community agencies and associations.
    • To assist and support community groups and the City in acquiring, developing or enhancing the tools needed to operate programs to increase safety.
    • To seek the funds and create partnerships essential for sustaining long-term crime prevention programs.
    • To promote policy solutions to issues of crime and disorder.
    • To monitor and evaluate on an ongoing basis the progress and impacts of plans and implementation
       
  5. ACCOUNTABILITY
    Crime Prevention Ottawa was founded by the City of Ottawa and it is jointly responsible to the City of Ottawa and to the greater community of Ottawa through an annual report to City Council and to the Community Forum.

    In addition to the City of Ottawa, Crime Prevention Ottawa is a partnership of four key institutions:  the Ottawa Police Service, the United Way/Centraide Ottawa, the Children's Aid Society of Ottawa and Ottawa"s four school boards through OCRI’s  K-12 Leadership Group.

    Crime Prevention Ottawa is governed and guided by a Board of Directors which is responsible for setting strategic direction, assuring sound financial management and hiring an Executive Director.  The Executive Director reports to a personnel committee and to the Chair of the Board.

    Crime Prevention Ottawa consults with a Community Forum made up of stakeholders concerned with community safety and crime prevention.  The Community Forum advises the Board of Directors with regards to emerging issues in the community, priorities and successes.
     
  6. BOARD OF DIRECTORS
    The Board of Directors, made up of 16 members, is a broad representation of the community and of institutions which contribute to safety in our community.  The Board will be reflective of the community of Ottawa including consideration of balance with regards to ethnocultural diversity, the English and French communities, gender, rural-suburban-urban concerns and youth and seniors issues.
    1. Appointments
      The Board of Directors shall include two categories of membership:  those who are appointed by the key institutions and general representative members.  The Board includes but is not limited to:

      Appointments by the founding institution:
      • One elected municipal official as appointed by Council
      • The Mayor
      • The Deputy City Manager responsible for Community and Protective Service
      • The Chief of the Ottawa Police ServiceOne Director of Education (as appointed by the OCRI K-12  Educational Leadership Group
      • The President of the United Way
      • The Executive Director of the Children’s Aid Society of  Ottawa

        General Representatives:

        Up to seven representatives of the community as appointed by Council.  These representatives will include a selection from: business, community associations, community service providers.
        At least one academic or researcher with expertise on matters related to community safety as appointed by Council.
         
    2. Term of Office
      Members of the Board of Directors are appointed for a period of up to 4 years with a possibility of being renewed once.
       
    3. Removal of Directors
      The Board of Directors reserves the right, by a vote of a simple majority, to remove members for non-attendance at meetings and other exceptional circumstances.
       
  7. COMMUNITY FORUM
    The Community Forum is an advisory body.  It gives feedback to the Board of Directors with regards to planning and operations and advises with regards to emerging issues in the community, priorities and successes.  The Community Forum is made up of a broad representation of the community and of institutions which contribute to safety.  The Forum will be reflective of the community of Ottawa including consideration of balance with regards to ethnocultural diversity, the English and French communities, gender, rural-suburban-urban concerns and youth and seniors issues. 
    1. Appointments
      Members of the Community Forum shall be appointed by the Board of Directors based on a broad public recruitment in partnership with the City Advisory Committees unit.  The Forum will be comprised of at least 30 representatives or individuals but no more than 60 representatives or individuals.
       
    2. Term of Office
      Members of the Community Forum are appointed for a period of up to 4 years with a possibility of being renewed once with the exception of the first appointees.  The first group of appointees will be randomly divided into 2 or 4 year appointments to create a rotation of positions.
       
    3. Removal of Members
      The Board of Directors reserves the right, by a vote of a simple majority, to remove members for non-attendance at meetings and other exceptional circumstances.
       
    4. Chair of the Community Forum
      The Chair of the Community Forum shall be the Vice Chair of the Board of Directors or another member of the Board of Directors.
       
    5. Meetings
      The Community Forum will meet at least once a year.  All meetings of the Forum shall be public meetings.

Cadre de rfrence

1.      CONTEXTE

En 2004, on a formé un panel pour la sécurité communautaire qui a produit un rapport intitulé Prévention de la criminalité dans la collectivité : investir dans une ville plus sécuritaire. Le document a été soumis au Conseil municipal et il en a résulté la création, dans le cadre du processus budgétaire de 2005, d'un centre de responsabilité permanent pour la prévention du crime (motion no 27/66).

2.      VISION

Ottawa est une ville où les individus et les familles se sentent en sécurité et dont les quartiers sont sécuritaires également.

3.      MISSION

Réduire la criminalité et améliorer la sécurité publique à Ottawa par une action collaborative et préventive fondée sur des données probantes.

4.      OBJECTIFS

  • Élaborer un plan stratégique englobant toute la collectivité pour réduire la criminalité et améliorer la sécurité publique à Ottawa.
  • Mettre en place des programmes spécifiques et ciblés de prévention de la criminalité et les appuyer en faisant équipe avec des associations et des organismes communautaires pertinents.
  • Aider et appuyer les groupes communautaires et la Ville aux fins de l'acquisition, de la mise au point ou de l'amélioration des outils nécessaires à l"exécution des programmes en vue d’accroître la sécurité.
  • Obtenir des fonds et forger des alliances indispensables au maintien à long terme de programmes de prévention de la criminalité.
  • Promouvoir la recherche de solutions de fond aux problèmes de criminalité et de désordre.
  • Contrôler et évaluer continuellement la progression et les effets des plans et de leur mise en oeuvre.

5.      REDDITION DE COMPTES

Programme créé par la Ville d'Ottawa, Prévention du crime Ottawa a l'obligation de rendre des comptes à la Ville et à la communauté d'Ottawa dans son ensemble au moyen d'un rapport annuel qu'il soumet au Conseil municipal et au forum communautaire.

Prévention du crime Ottawa est un partenariat qui regroupe, outre la Ville d’Ottawa, quatre institutions importantes : le Service de police d'Ottawa, Centraide/United Way Ottawa, la Société d'aide à l'enfance d'Ottawa ainsi que les quatre conseils scolaires d'Ottawa par l’intermédiaire du Groupe dirigeant K‑12 du Centre de recherche et d'innovation d'Ottawa (CRIO).

Le conseil d'administration qui dirige et guide Prévention du crime Ottawa est aussi chargé d'en établir l'orientation stratégique, d'en assurer la saine gestion financière et d'en recruter le directeur général. Ce dernier relève d’un comité du personnel et du président du conseil d'administration.

Prévention du crime Ottawa a des consultations avec un forum communautaire composé d'intervenants du domaine de la sécurité publique et de la prévention de la criminalité. Le forum communautaire conseille les administrateurs au sujet des questions nouvelles, des priorités et des réussites.

6.   CONSEIL D'ADMINISTRATION

Le conseil d'administration réunit 16 membres représentant l'ensemble de la collectivité d'Ottawa et les institutions qui contribuent à la sécurité publique. Sa composition doit refléter celle de la population d’Ottawa : communautés culturelles, communautés francophones et anglophones, représentation des deux sexes, secteur rural, banlieues et secteur urbain, jeunes et aînés.

6.1    Nominations

Le conseil d’administration comprend deux catégories de membres : les représentants nommés par les institutions clés et les représentants généraux. Le conseil réunit notamment :

des représentants nommés par les institutions fondatrices du programme :

  • un représentant élu choisi par le Conseil municipal,
  • le maire d'Ottawa,
  • le directeur municipal adjoint responsable des Services communautaires et de protection,
  • le chef du Service de police d'Ottawa,
  • un directeur de l'Éducation (désigné par le Groupe dirigeant K12 du CRIO),
  • le président de Centraide/United Way Ottawa,
  • le directeur général de la Société d'aide à l'enfance d’Ottawa,
  • le PDG du Logement communautaire d'Ottawa;

Des représentants généraux :

  • au maximum sept représentants de la communauté nommés par le Conseil municipal et provenant du milieu des affaires, des associations communautaires et des fournisseurs de services communautaires,
  • au moins un universitaire ou un chercheur ayant l’expérience des questions de sécurité publique, également nommé par le Conseil municipal.

6.2    Mandat 

Les membres du conseil d’administration sont nommés pour un mandat d’une durée maximale de quatre ans renouvelable une seule fois.

6.3    Destitution d’administrateurs 

Le conseil d’administration se réserve le droit, moyennant un vote à la majorité simple, de destituer un membre pour absentéisme ou autres motifs exceptionnels.

7.      Forum communautaire

Le forum communautaire est un organisme consultatif qui fournit au conseil d’administration de Prévention du crime Ottawa des avis en matière de planification et de fonctionnement ainsi que des conseils au sujet des questions d’actualité, des priorités et des réussites. Le forum communautaire représente un large éventail de la collectivité et des institutions qui contribuent à la sécurité publique. Sa composition reflète celle de la population d’Ottawa : communautés culturelles, communautés francophones et anglophones, représentation des deux sexes, secteur rural, banlieues et secteur urbain, jeunes et aînés.

7.1       Nominations

Le conseil d’administration choisit les membres du forum communautaire au cours d'un vaste processus de recrutement mené auprès du public en partenariat avec le service de la Ville responsable des comités consultatifs. Le forum réunira entre 30 et 60 représentants ou particuliers.

7.2       Mandat

Les membres du forum communautaire sont nommés pour un mandat d’une durée maximale de quatre ans renouvelable une seule fois, sauf dans le cas des premiers membres, qui se verront attribuer au hasard un mandat de deux ou quatre ans afin de permettre un roulement des effectifs.

7.3       Destitution de membres

Le conseil d’administration se réserve le droit, moyennant un vote à la majorité simple, de destituer un membre pour absentéisme ou autres circonstances exceptionnelles.

7.4       Président du forum communautaire

Le président du forum communautaire est le vice-président ou un autre membre du conseil d'administration.

7.5       Réunions

Les participants au forum communautaire se réuniront au moins une fois l'an. Toutes les réunions du forum seront publiques.